Guide to Health Care Provider Selection





In the New Mexico workers' compensation system, choosing a Health Care Provider (HCP) after a workplace injury must follow a specific process.

NM Statute 52-1-49: Reasonable and necessary medical care from a health care provider after a workplace injury

Care should be timely



If the Injury is an Emergency

- Seek immediate medical care
- Emergency care does not count as a selection of HCP
- However, a referral from the emergency care provider *IS* considered a selection



HCP Selection Starts with the Employer

- Employers have the right to make first selection of a health care provider (HCP) for injured workers.
- The employer should inform workers in writing of the HCP choice and where to seek treatment for a workplace injury;
- Or
- Whether the employer will allow the worker to make the first selection of the HCP.



What happens if the employer has *not* notified workers in writing about the HCP selection policy?



- Ask your employer who you should see after an injury.
- If your employer instructs you to see a particular HCP, you should see that HCP.
- The HCP selection is also on the Notice of Accident (NOA) form, so technically, notification in writing of the selection process can take place through the Notice of Accident form.

NOTICE OF ACCIDENT OR OCCUPATIONAL DISEASE DISABLEMENT NOTIFICACIÓN DE ACCIDENTE O ENFERMEDAD DE OFICIO

In accordance with New Mexico law, Section 52-1-29, Section 52-3-19 and Section 52-1-49, NMSA 1978; NMAC 11.4.4.11
Conforme a la Ley de la Compensación de los Trabajadores, Sección 52-1-29, Sección 52-3-19 y Sección 52-1-49, NMSA 1978; NMAC 11.4.4.11

Employee's social security numl Número de seguro social del en	oproximately, on _ madamente (time/a la(s) hora(s)) el per:	Where did the accident occur?		
En caso afirmativo, el empleador proveedor de atención médica d	ge health care provider after 60 days. tiene derecho a cambiar de	Worker will choose health care provider. Yes No Trabajador elegirá proveedor de atención médica. If No, Worker has the right to change health care provider after 60 days. En caso que no elige, el trabajador tiene derecho a cambiar de proveedor de atención médica después de 60 dias. LES DEL TRABAJADOR		
	pleado) Firma EESENTS A FALSE OR FRAUDULENT CLAIFOR INSURANCE IS GUILTY OF A CRIME PREVIOUS NOA FO Employer/employee: Each keep	ed/Notice Received: w/Notificación recibida: (employer or representative/empleador o representante) Date/Fecha: IM FOR PAYMENT OF A LOSS OR BENEFIT OR KNOWINGLY PRESENTS FALSE EAND MAY BE SUBJECT TO CIVIL FINES AND CRIMINAL PENALTIES. DORMS ARE STILL VALID FOR USE DO ONE CODY. SEE BACK OF THIS FORM T UNA CODIA. VER AL REVERSO DE ESTA FORMA		
Worker For emergency medical care	go to any emergency medical			
Workers and Employers with questions about workers' compensation may contact an Ombudsman at any New Mexico Workers' Compensation Administration office for information and assistance. The offices are open Monday through Friday, 8 a.m. to 5 p.m., except holidays.				

Trabajador

Para emergencias médicas vaya a cualquier clinica / hospital.

Trabajadores y empleadores con preguntas acerca de la compensación de los trabajadores pueden comunicarse con un asesor ("ombudsman") a cualquier oficina de la Administración de la Compensación de los Trabajadores para información y asistencia. Las oficinas están abiertas desde las ocho de la mañana hasta las cinco de la tarde de lunes a viernes, con la excepción de dias festivos.

Statewide Helpline -- Linea de Asistencia

1-866-WORKOMP / 1-866-967-5667

toll free -- llamada sin costo de larga distancia New Mexico Workers' Compensation Administration PO Box 27198, Albuquerque, NM 87125

Albuquerque: (505) 841-6000 - 1 (800) 255-7965 Farmington: (505) 599-9746 - 1 (800) 568-7310 Hobbs: (575) 397-3425 - 1 (800) 934-2450 Las Cruces: (575) 524-6246 - 1 (800) 870-6826 Las Vegas: (505) 454-9251 - 1 (800) 281-7889 Roswell: (575) 623-3997 - 1(866) 311-8587 Santa Fe: (505) 476-7381



The party *not* making the first selection may change the HCP after 60 days.

- Changing the HCP is done by filing a "Notice of Change of HCP" form and submitting it to the other party.
- This form may be submitted as early as the 50th day after treatment has started.
- The form is found on the WCA Forms webpage.
- https://workerscomp.nm.gov/NMWCA-Forms

NEW MEXICO WORKERS' COMPENSATION ADMINISTRATION NOTICE OF CHANGE OF HEALTH CARE PROVIDER

A party has filed a Notice of Change of Health Care Provider in your workers' compensation case pursuant to Section 52-1-49 of the New Mexico Workers' Compensation Act or Section 52-3-15 of the New Mexico Occupational Disablement Law. If you are the injured worker, you must change to the health care provider named below within 10 days of the postmark or delivery date of this notice. You may object to the change by filing an "Health Care Provider Disagreement Form" with the Workers' Compensation Administration within 3 days of receipt of this notice. If you do not file the Objection within 3 days, the change will be binding. If you file the Objection after 3 days, the change will remain in effect unless it is changed by the court.

Worker's Name:	Employer's Name:
Address:	
Telephone No.:	
Insurance Company:	
Address:	
Worker's Attorney, if any:	Employer's Attorney, if any:
Address:	Address:
Date of Accident:	County of Accident:
Type of Injury:	
Current health care provider:	
Address:	Telephone No.:
Proposed health care provider (must be lice	nsed in New Mexico):
Address:	Telephone No.:
Signature of Person sending this Notice:	Date:

Albuquerque: (505) 841-6000 or 1 (800) 255-7965 Farmington: (505) 599-9746 or 1 (800) 568-7310

Las Cruces: (575) 524-6246 or 1 (800) 870-6826 **Las Vegas:** (505) 454-9251 or 1 (800) 281-7889

Hobbs: (575) 397-3425 or 1(800) 934-2450 **Roswell:** (575) 623-3997 or 1 (866) 311-8587

Santa Fe: (505) 476-7381



Can an Objection be Made to the Notice of Change form?

- The party receiving the Notice of Change form may object to the change by filing a "Health Care Provider Disagreement" form with the WCA's Clerk of the Court. The form is found on the WCA website's Forms page.
- This must be done within three (3) days of receipt from the Notice of Change form.
- A hearing before a WCA judge will be scheduled within seven (7) days of receipt of the Objection form.

STATE OF NEW MEXICO WORKERS' COMPENSATION ADMINISTRATION

, WCA No.:
Worker,
v.
Employer/Insurer.
HEALTH CARE PROVIDER DISAGREEMENT FORM
A disagreement has arisen over the selection of Health Care Provider (HCP), or provision of health care services pursuant to $11.4.4.12\ NMAC$.
Check the appropriate reason for the Health Care Provider disagreement.
Applicant disagrees with the Notice of Change of Health Care Provider pursuant to 11.4.4.12(F)(1) or (F)(2) NMAC.: A Notice of Change of HCP was served by: Worker Employer on
Applicant disagrees that the authorized HCP is providing the worker reasonable and necessary medical care and requests a change in HCP. Pursuant to 11.4.4.12(L) NMAC, the applicant bears the burden of proof to show that the worker is not receiving reasonable and necessary medical care or the request will be denied. Applicant may suggest an alternate HCP pursuant to 11.4.4.12(K)(2) NMAC:
Applicant objects to the authorized HCP for the following specific reasons (11.4.4.12(K)(1) NMAC):
Signature of filing party



A Request to Change HCPs Comes with a Burden of Proof

• A party may file a "Request to Change HCP" form at any time during healthcare treatment. However, the filing party has the burden of proof to show that the authorized HCP cannot provide reasonable and necessary medical treatment.





What Happens With Disputes Over HCP Issues?

- Sometimes a party may dispute the reasonableness or necessity of medical or surgical treatment;
- Or the date at which Maximum Medical Improvement (MMI) was reached;
- Or the correct impairment rating for the worker;
- Or the cause of injury;
- Or a medical issue;
- Or the use of a specific Independent Medical Examiner (IME).



• In any of those cases, either party may petition a workers' compensation judge for permission to have the worker undergo an independent medical examination.



Thank You!

Ombudsman Hotline: 1-866-967-5667 Se Habla Español



Workers' Compensation Administration

ONE TEAM | ONE GOAL

A Better New Mexico for Workers and Employers

