How to Fill Out a Notice of Accident Form

What to do after you've been injured at work



Workers' Compensation Administration

Notice of Accident Forms Exist Because Workplace Injuries and Illnesses Happen

 Sometimes accidents happen

 The workers' compensation system does not look to blame the worker OR the employer

• The form is a way to help you through the process



The Notice of Accident Form

NOTICE OF ACCIDENT OR OCCUPATIONAL DISEASE DISABLEMENT NOTIFICACIÓN DE ACCIDENTE O ENFERMEDAD DE OFICIO

In accordance with New Mexico law, Section 52-1-29, Section 52-3-19 and Section 52-1-49, NMSA 1978; NMAC 11.4.4.11 Conforme a la Ley de la Compensación de los Trabajadores, Sección 52-1-29, Sección 52-3-19 y Sección 52-1-49, NMSA 1978; NMAC 11.4.4.11

| | I,, Yo, (name of employee/nombre del empleado) | was involved in an on-the-job accident or was disabled me lastimé en un accidente en el trabajo o fui incapacitado | | | |
|------|--|---|--|--|--|
| | by an occupational disease at approximately, por enfermedad de oficio aproximadamente (time/a la(s) hora(s)) | on, 20 <i>el</i> (date <i>lfecha) del 20</i> | | | |
| ired | Employee's social security number: Número de seguro social del empleado: | Where did the accident occur? | | | |
| | What happened? | | | | |
| | | | | | |
| | | Mentenusille hoose health ages mentiden Veg Ne | | | |
| | To be completed by Employer: | Worker will choose health care provider. Yes No | | | |
| è | Completado por el empleador. If Yes, Employer has right to change health care provider after 60 da En caso afirmativo, el empleador tiene derecho a cambiar de proveedor de atención médica después de 60 dias. | Trabajador elegirá proveedor de atención médica. | | | |

ANY PERSON WHO KNOWINGLY PRESENTS A FALSE OR FRAUDULENT CLAIM FOR PAYMENT OF A LOSS OR BENEFIT OR KNOWINGLY PRESENTS FALSE INFORMATION IN AN APPLICATION FOR INSURANCE IS GUILTY OF A CRIME AND MAY BE SUBJECT TO CIVIL FINES AND CRIMINAL PENALTIES. PREVIOUS NOA FORMS ARE STILL VALUE FOR USE

| | TREVIOUS NONTORMS TIRE STIELE WHEN FOR USE | | | |
|------------|--|------------------------------|--|--|
| Form NOA-1 | Employer/employee: Each keep one copy. | SEE BACK OF THIS FORM | | |
| | Empleador/empleado: Retener una copia. | VER AL REVERSO DE ESTA FORMA | | |

The Workers' Compensation Administration (WCA) provides a Notice of Accident Form to be filled out when someone is injured or becomes ill on the job.

The Worker must report the

accident/injury to the Employer **within 15 days** using the Notice of Accident form (NOA). This is the law. §52-1-29 NMSA 1978

Where Can I Find the Form?

- Look in your break room
- Is there a poster nearby?
- Ask your employer
- Or contact a WCA ombudsman
- The box in the poster's center notes the Employer's claims administrator. This is the person who can help you with your injury claim, once filed.

State of New Mexico Workers' Compensation Administration WORKERS' COMPENSATION ACT

If You Are Injured At Work Si Se Lastima En El Trabajo

1) Notice -- In most cases you must tell your employer about the accident within 15 days, using the Notice of Accident Form.

2) You have the right to information and assistance from an information specialist known as an Ombudsman at the Workers' Compensation Administration.

3) Claims information -- Contact your employer's Claims Representative.

1) Aviso. -- En la mayoría de los casos usted debe de avisarle a su empleador del accidente dentro de los primeros 15 días usando las formas de Áviso de Accidente.

2) Usted tiene el derecho a información y ayuda contactándose con un especialista en información conocido como "Ombudsman" en la Administración para la Compensación a los Trabajadores.

3) Información acerca de Reclamaciones. --Contáctese con el representante de reclamaciones de su compañía.

| Name: | |
|----------|--|
| | |
| Phone #: | |
| Address: | |

YOUR RIGHTS

If you are injured in a work-related accident:

Your employer / insurer must pay all reasonable and necessary medical costs.

1-505-841-6000

You may or may not have the right to choose your health care provider. If your employer / insurer has not given you written instructions about who chooses first, call an ombudsman. In an emergency, get emergency medical care first.

If you are off work for more than 7 days, your employer / insurer must pay wage benefits to partially offset your lost wages.

If you suffer "permanent impairment," you may have the right to receive partial wage benefits for a longer period of time.

SUS DERECHOS

Si se lastima en el trabajo

Su empleador / asegurador debe de pagar por los gastos médicos necesarios y razonables.

Es posible que usted tenga, o no tenga, el derecho de escoger el proveedor de servicios para la salud. Si su empleador / asegurador no le ha dado instrucciones por escrito de quien es él que selecciona primero, pregúntele o llame a un ombudsman. En una emergencia, obtenga asistencia médica de emergencia primero.

Si usted está fuera del trabajo por más de siete días, su empleador / asegurador debe de hacerle un pago compensatorio de prestaciones para compensar parcialmente la pérdida de su salario.

Si usted sufre "daño permanente," usted puede tener el derecho a recibir prestaciones parciales de salario por un periodo de tiempo más largo.

Ombudsmen are located at the following offices: Albuquerque: 1-800-255-7965 Farmington: 1-800-568-7310 Las Cruces: 1-800-76626 Las Vegas: 1-800-281-7859 Lovington: 1-800-934-2450 1-505-599-9746 1-505-524-6246 1-505-454-9251



How to Fill Out the Form

NOTICE OF ACCIDENT OR OCCUPATIONAL DISEASE DISABLEMENT NOTIFICACIÓN DE ACCIDENTE O ENFERMEDAD DE OFICIO

In accordance with New Mexico law, Section 52-1-29, Section 52-3-19 and Section 52-1-49, NMSA 1978; NMAC 11.4.4.11 Conforme a la Ley de la Compensación de los Trabajadores, Sección 52-1-29, Sección 52-3-19 y Sección 52-1-49, NMSA 1978; NMAC 11.4.4.11

| → | I, Yo, (name of employee/nombre del e by an occupational disease at appro por enfermedad de oficio aproximad Employee's social security number: | ximately, lamente (time/a la(s) hora(s)) | <i>me lastimé en un</i> on, | n on-the-job accident or was disabled accidente en el trabajo o fui incapacitado , 20 el 20 ident occur? | |
|-----|--|---|--|--|--|
| | Número de seguro social del emple | | ¿Dónde ocurrió el | | |
| у | What happened? | | | | |
| | | | | | |
| day | To be completed by Employer: Completado por el empleador: If Yes, Employer has right to change h En caso afirmativo, el empleador tien proveedor de atención médica desp WORK | e derecho a cambiar de ués de 60 dias. | Trabajador eleg ays. If No, Worker has th En caso que no eli | choose health care provider. YesNo pirá proveedor de atención médica. ne right to change health care provider after 60 days. ige, el trabajador tiene derecho a cambiar de proveedor a después de 60 dias. ADOR | |
| | Signed: | | Signed/Notice Received | | |
| | <i>Fima:</i> (employee/ <i>emplead</i> Date/Fecha: | 10) F | Date/Fecha: | : (employer or representative/empleador o representante) | |
| | | INSURANCE IS GUILTY OF A C | | A LOSS OR BENEFIT OR KNOWINGLY PRESENTS FALSE T TO CIVIL FINES AND CRIMINAL PENALTIES. D FOR USE | |
| | | nployer/employee: Each l npleador/empleado: Rete | | SEE BACK OF THIS FORM | |

- Either the worker or employer can fill out the form. If the worker is unable to fill out the form, a supervisor may be able to help.
- Fill in the name of the person injured.
- The form asks for information on the accident. What day did it occur? What time? Where?
- The worker will need to state their social security number.
- Describe what happened.
- The worker will need to sign the form.
- The Employer fills out the shaded area and signs the form as well.
- Both worker and employer get a copy of the form once it is filled out.

Use the Back of the NOA Form

• On the form's reverse side, you'll find information that may be of help. If you have difficulty filling out the form, or have questions, contact us toll free—at 1-866-WORKOMP/1-866-967-5667.

• The form lists the number of our offices statewide.

• The WCA's web address is also listed.

Worker ---

For emergency medical care, go to any emergency medical facility.

Workers and Employers with questions about workers' compensation may contact an Ombudsman at any New Mexico Workers' Compensation Administration office for information and assistance. The offices are open Monday through Friday, 8 a.m. to 5 p.m., except holidays.

Trabajador

Para emergencias médicas vaya a cualquier clinica / hospital.

Trabajadores y empleadores con preguntas acerca de la compensación de los trabajadores pueden comunicarse con un asesor ("ombudsman") a cualquier oficina de la Administración de la Compensación de los Trabajadores para información y asistencia. Las oficinas están abiertas desde las ocho de la mañana hasta las cinco de la tarde de lunes a viernes, con la excepción de dias festivos.

Statewide Helpline -- Linea de Asistencia

1-866-WORKOMP/1-866-967-5667

toll free -- *llamada sin costo de larga distancia* New Mexico Workers' Compensation Administration PO Box 27198, Albuquerque, NM 87125

Albuquerque: (505) 841-6000 - 1 (800) 255-7965 Farmington: (505) 599-9746 - 1 (800) 568-7310 Hobbs: (575) 397-3425 - 1 (800) 934-2450 Las Cruces: (575) 524-6246 - 1 (800) 870-6826 Santa Fe: (505) 476-7381 Las Vegas: (505) 454-9251 - 1 (800) 281-7889 Roswell: (575) 623-3997 - 1(866) 311-8587

Rev. 11/18

https://workerscomp.nm.gov

Thank You!

Ombudsman Hotline: 1-866-967-5667



Workers' Compensation Administration

ONE TEAM ONE GOAL A Better New Mexico for Workers and Employers